Month: February 2008

  • SAYING GOOD-BYE TO GRANDMA SIS ...

     

    Just a short note to let you know that my grandmother passed away this weekend. She has been ill with Alzheimer's for quite a while so it was not a shock. Still, my dad who is an only child, is having a difficult time. For various reasons, we decided that I would go to New Orleans alone to be with my mom and dad. I would appreciate your prayers for the family I'm leaving here and for my safety once again as I travel.

     

  • DIVINELY DRESSED ...

     

    I have safely returned from my trip to South Carolina, where I had the pleasure of speaking for a group of wonderful women. There were more than 70 women gathered on Mrytle Beach for some rest, relaxation and renewal. We, unfortunately, didn't get much beach time ... the schedule was tight and the weather was chilly. We did, however, spend some wonderful time in fellowship where we did a little crying ... and a lot of laughing.

    The theme was 'Divinely Dressed'. In the true fashion of creative women, there were decorations and goodies to follow our girlie theme. Fancy shoes, purses, and hats donned the tables and decorated the room.

    In between my times at the podium, lots of activities were going on. It was a joy to see my little girl (who will be 30 years old in a few weeks ... ikes) taking charge and keeping things running smoothly. I thoroughly enjoyed stepping back, watching and capturing a few of those moments on my camera. When I wasn't able to grab my camera, Court was snapping the shutter for me.

    Here are a few visual highlights of our weekend ...

    Table Decorations ...

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-171

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-167

    Working together to help their sisters become 'Divinely Dressed' ...

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-2 SC Ladies Retreat '08-18

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-14 SC Ladies Retreat '08-3

    Fashion Show for the newest and upcoming Divine-wear ...

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-88

    Decorating Hats ...

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-49 SC Ladies Retreat '08-52

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-50 SC Ladies Retreat '08-55 

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-74

    This was the HAT version of Courtney's youth group favorite ~ Rikky Tikky Bear ~ along with a little silliness before it began ...

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-120

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-118 SC Ladies Retreat '08-119

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-114

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-116

     SC Ladies Retreat '08-132 SC Ladies Retreat '08-141

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-144

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-159

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-126

    Awards went to ladies who wear their hats in amazing ways ...

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-189

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-184 SC Ladies Retreat '08-195

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-174

    SC Ladies Retreat '08-178

    "Thank You ... Thank You, SO MUCH!!"

    Wish you had been there ~ smile.

     

  • THE KENDALL WHIRLWIND ...

     

    Just one more day and I'm headed to South Carolina. I'll be speaking at a Ladies Retreat in Myrtle Beach for a group of about 75 ladies that have become very precious to my heart. This is the congregation that Courtney attends ... the congregation who embraced us so completely and lovingly when Dustin died. I will be speaking on being 'Divinely Dressed' ... Colossians 3:17ff. I'm excited to have this time with them .. and a few extra days to love on Court and my sweet grandbabies.

    Tomorrow will be a whirlwind before I head out. I'll teach ladies class tomorrow morning, grab a bite to eat, get Kayli through her school work and then we head to Ft. Worth for her theatre class. Then a fast trip back just in time to get to church and then home for last minute preparations before leaving. phew!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Kayli is loving her new acting class at the Casa Manana Theatre. She's in her element without a doubt. She's also got lots of things going on for LTC this year ... drama, chorus, sign language, photography, service, teaching ... and she's even working on a children's book. She is the favorite among most of the little ones (and their moms) at church so she has also become a very busy babysitter.

    Brandi has started school again ... he's working on a new Master's Program in Spritiual Renewal. He has always loved being a student. He's also busy heading up our new LIFE group program at church and doing all the other things that an involvement minister does. He continues to teach ... and preach, occasionally. We all do miss his preaching.

    Jared is back at school full-time as well. He's working on his degree in Deaf Interpretation ...and will be working at the rehab center on weekends. He's also a great help around the house. He's going to make a wonderful husband some day ... if I can just let him go. =0)

    I'm also busy about many things ... speaking at this ladies retreat has been a big project on my plate but I'm really looking forward to it. I'm teaching ladies class on Wednesday mornings, coaching the photography project for LTC, coordinating a portion of the new pictorial directory ... and am the new 'historian' for our quilt guild. This basically means I get to take the pictures =0).

    I am honored to have been invited to be an official photographer for the OPLove: Reunited program (a charitable foundation that offers photography to families of deployed soldiers). I have got several learning opportunities ahead, as well. I'll be attending some photography schools this month, as well as, in March and in May. And ... I'm very excited to be working on my accredidation to the 'Special Needs Kids' Photography Assocation. Can't wait to be a part of that.

    So ... that's what we're up to at our house. Wow ... kind of makes me tired just writing about it all! We've been blessed with so many opportunities to make a difference ... and we're very grateful.

    Have a great week ... will check in when I get back from South Carolina.